Find a Winery - Australia
Find a Winery - Australia
Bordertown Wine Region - Wineries, Vineyards, Wine, Winery Tour Maps, Cellar Doors - Bordertown, Mundulla, Wirrega, Warrensville, Pidgeon Flat, Murra Pureek

Disclaimer: Reliability of information       See Map of Wineries in this district    
arrow Stay on the beachfront nearby
climate The Bordertown Wine Region in the Limestone Coast Zone includes wineries near the townships Bordertown and Mundulla, north of Naracoorte. It also includes wineries in the vicinity of Bordertown, Mundulla, Wirrega, Gum Flat, Warrensville, Pidgeon Flat and Murra Pureek. The Limestone Coast wine industry association comprises winegrape growers and wineries situated in regions such as Coonawarra, Padthaway, Mt Benson, Wrattonbully, Mount Gambier and Robe. Bordertown and Lucindale districts have been added. Located about 270 km east of Adelaide and 80 m above sea level on the border between Victoria and South Australia, Bordertown is the gateway to South Australia for traffic from Melbourne. It is surrounded by a rich agricultural district, noted for its production of cereals, meat, seeds, wool, vegetables and wine grapes. The Limestone Coast has a Mediterranean style climate with cool, wet winters and long, mild, dry summers. Generally rainfall tends to decrease northwards and away from the coast, from an annual maximum of 850 mm near Mount Burr to 450 mm near Keith and Bordertown. Temperatures are generally cool to mild, and around Mount Gambier range from a minimum average of about 5.5 degrees C in July to a maximum average of about 24.7 degrees C in February. Spring frosts can cause problems, but are controlled by overhead sprinklers or fans. Summer sea breezes in the evening cool the vines after hot days. Many vineyards are irrigated from extensive groundwater resources. Some of the local wineries in the area include: Bordertown Vineyard, Cuppa Cup Vineyard (Southcorp), Howcroft Estate(McGuigans Wines), Ridgway of Maradine, Wirrega Vineyard (Heartland Wines).

The Limestone Coast Wine Region includes eight districts : Padthaway ; Robe ; Wrattonbully ; Kingston SE ; Mount Gambier ; Mount Benson ; Lucindale ; Bordertown

Home About Us Wineries List Region Lists Town Lists Add Items Advertise Contact Us Links Site Map Tours/Guides