Find a Winery - Australia
Find a Winery - Australia
Riverina Wine Region - Wine, Wineries, Districts, Vineyards, Winery Tour Maps, Cellar Doors - Junee, Deniliquin, Hanwood, Griffith, Yenda, Leeton, Wagga Wagga

Disclaimer: Reliability of information       See Map of Wineries in this district    
arrow Stay on the beachfront nearby     Local Holidays Activites
climate The Riverina Wine Region is one of the major bulk wine production areas in southern New South Wales consistently producing high volumes of technically proficient and excellent quality wines. The region is famous for the magnificent Botrytis Semillon dessert wine produced by many local producers, such as De Bortoli. The Riverina Region is part of the Big Rivers wine zone, together with the Perricoota Region. The Riverina region, is centred on the major service centre, tourism centre and rural community of Griffith, which was established as an irrigation based agricultural centre in the early 1900s. The McWilliams family was a pioneer who initially focused on fortified wines and by the early 1950s the focus was expanded to the production of table wines from premium varieties. Among the largely Itallian pioneer producers are Casella (famous for their `yellow tail` wine), Rossetto, Miranda, Sergi, Calabria, Zappacosta and De Bortoli. The climate in the Riverina wine region features a hot dry summer growing season, with a mild winter and few frosts and msot of the rainfall in winter. The low annual rainfall of 400 mm (16 inches) is supplemented by irrigation from the Murrumbidgee River. Grape yields are consistent and reliable, with moderate to high yields and few disease problem. The regional landscape is generally flat and the soils are mostly sandy loams with variable colour and structure, ranging from brown clay loams to red sandy earths. As well as the bulk wine producers there are many boutique premium wine producers, such as Terra Nova Estate, Lillypilly Estate, Piromit Wines and Murrin Bridge (which was the first indigenous wine label in Australia). Major varieties include Gewurztraminer, Chenin Blanc, Semillon, Marsanne, Chardonnay, Verdelho, Pinot Noir, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, and Shiraz. The Ron Potter Research Centre and Charles Sturt University's wine school are based at Wagga Wagga. Visit the region during the unWINed, wine and food festival held in June.

The Riverina Region is home to 17 districts: Junee ; Coolamon ; The Rock ; Lake Cargelligo ; Deniliquin ; Hanwood ; East Griffith ; West Griffith ; Griffith Central; Yenda ; Leeton ; Wagga Wagga ; Balranald ; Narrandera ; Stanbridge ; Hay ; Hillston ; Jerilderie.

Home About Us Wineries List Region Lists Town Lists Add Items Advertise Contact Us Links Site Map Tours/Guides