Find a Winery - Australia
Find a Winery - Australia
The Rock District - Wine, Wineries, Districts, Vineyards, Winery Tour Maps, Cellar Doors - The Rock - Riverina Wine Region, NSW

Disclaimer: Reliability of information       See Map of Wineries in this district    
arrow Book Accommodation in Western Sydney    Stay on the beachfront nearby     Local Holidays Activites
climate The Rock Wine District, in the Riverina Wine Region, southern NSW is centred on the small township of The Rock on the Olympic Highway about and 100 km north of Albury and 23 km south of Wagga Wagga. The town is dominated by an unusual rock mountain that rises dramatically from the plain south of the town. Kengal, as it was referred to by the local aboriginal tribe, the Wiradjuri, is shaped rather like a crouching lion. It played a vital role in local initiation. As one the very few areas of uncleared land in the area, The Rock provides important habitat for a number of threatened plant species and animals and is now a nature reserve.

The Riverina Region is home to 17 districts: Junee ; Coolamon ; The Rock ; Lake Cargelligo ; Deniliquin ; Hanwood ; East Griffith ; Griffith Central; West Griffith ; Yenda ; Leeton ; Wagga Wagga ; Balranald ; Narrandera ; Stanbridge ; Hay ; Hillston ; Jerilderie.

Home About Us Wineries List Region Lists Town Lists Add Items Advertise Contact Us Links Site Map Tours/Guides